SECWCD December 7, 2023 1

SOUTHEASTERN COLORADO WATER CONSERVANCY DISTRICT MINUTES December 7, 2023

A meeting of the Board of Directors of the Southeastern Colorado Water Conservancy District (District) was held on Thursday, December 7, 2023, 9:35 a.m., at the District office, 31717 United Avenue, Pueblo, Colorado. The ZOOM platform was also made available for Board members and visitors.

President Long asked Margie Medina for a roll call of those connected via ZOOM.

DIRECTORS PRESENT:

Alan Hamel	Greg Felt (remote)	Patrick Garcia
Andy Colosimo	Kevin Karney	Seth Clayton
Ann Nichols	Mark Pifher (remote)	Tom Goodwin (remote)
Bill Long	Matt Heimerich	
Curtis Mitchell	Pat Edelmann (remote)	

DIRECTOR(S) ABSENT AND EXCUSED:

Dallas May and Howard "Bub" Miller.

President Long established that a Quorum was present.

INTRODUCTION OF VISITORS:

President Long asked all present to introduce themselves and welcomed the visitors to the meeting.

DISTRICT OFFICIALS:

Executive Director James Broderick; Staff Attorney Peter Levish; Principal Engineer Kevin Meador, and Mark Scott; Senior Policy and Issues Manager Chris Woodka; Water Resources Principal Engineer Garrett Markus; Director of Administration and Finance Leann Noga; Administrative Support Specialists Margie Medina and Patty Rivas; Finance Manager Stephanie Shipley; Christine Arbogast, Kogovsek and Associates; and Roy Vaughan, H2O Consultants.

VISITORS CONNECTED VIA ZOOM:

Lauren Duncan, Colorado Water Conservation Board; Lisa Windham, Colorado Springs Utilities: Luke Mecklenburg, Assistant Attorney General Interstate Water Unit; and Travis White, JHL Construction.

VISITORS PRESENT:

Curtis Thompson, AECOM.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

President Long said the minutes from the November 16, 2023, District Board meeting was posted to OnBoard and the website for review and asked if there were any corrections or additions. Hearing none, Mr. Hamel moved, seconded by Mr. Garcia, to approve the minutes. Motion unanimously carried.

President Long convened the Enterprise meeting @ 9:37 a.m. to be held in conjunction with the District meeting.

ACTION ITEMS:

2024 PROPOSED BUDGET AND RESOLUTION ADOPTION

Mrs. Noga reported the Board received the 2024 Proposed Budget on October 13, 2023. The 2024 Proposed Budget was presented to the Board of Directors and the general public at the November 16, 2023, Public Hearing.

Since the November Public Hearing, there have been no changes to the 2024 Proposed Budget.

Final assessed valuation figures for the 2024 tax collection are anticipated to be received from all counties by January 3, 2024. Staff will then certify the full mill levy by January 10, 2024.

This process occurs after approval of the 2024 Budget, staff will adjust the mill levy tax revenues for the Final 2024 Budget Publication.

All other descriptions regarding the 2024 Budget will be included in the 2024 Adopted Budget Publication.

A copy of Resolution 2023-01DF and the 2024 Proposed Budget Message dated December 7, 2023, were provided to the Board.

Mr. Garcia moved, seconded by Mr. Karney that the Board of Directors adopt Resolution and Order No. 2023-01DF for the 2024 Proposed Budget as presented and authorize the Budget Officer to make any necessary adjustments to the stated mill levies and budgeted amounts by January 10, 2024. Motion carried unanimously.

President Long recessed the Enterprise meeting at 9:42 a.m.

RECORD OF PROCEEDING

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS:

The Board was provided written material on the following topics, which were posted to OnBoard and the Board website:

- Water Court Resume
- SECWCD Conference and Board Room System Upgrade
- CRWUA, Las Vegas, NV- December 13-15, 2023
- CWC, Denver/Aurora January 31 February 2, 2024
- FFA Conference, Reno, NV February 22-23, 2024

President Long asked if there were any other matters to come before the Board, hearing none, Mr. Long adjourned the District Meeting at 9:43 a.m.

RECORD OF PROCEEDING

Respectfully submitted,	
Patty Rivas Administrative Support Specialist	Seth Clayton – Secretary
Bill Long – President	Howard "Bub" Miller
Curtis Mitchell – Vice President	Kevin Karney
Ann Nichols – Treasurer	Mark Pifher
Alan Hamel	Matt Heimerich
Andy Colosimo	Pat Edelmann
Dallas May	Patrick Garcia
Greg Felt	Tom Goodwin